I’ve been looking up new keyboards and keyboard layouts. I’m not talking about computer keyboards but musical keyboards. I have found two I like. The first one is the TERPSTRA keyboard, by Cortex Design. Annoyingly, their website has been down (or it has for me) and I can’t stare wishfully at the few images and small amount of descriptive text they provided. I mainly like the keyboard because if it’s design, which is fancy, and the fact it has 280 keys in an isomorphic hexagonal layout. The keys are “velocity-sensitive” and trigger any MIDI event. By velocity sensitivity I’m not exactly sure what they mean, but it certainly sounds like what my keyboard, and most keyboards offer, which is, by the button on mine “Touch” or touch sensitivity. It is meant to replicate a real piano in how the slower you press the key, the quieter the sound. If that is what they mean it certainly isn’t new, but then again, I’m not exactly sure how old it is. I have read other blog posts regarding it and they all seem to have been posted about october last year. But the other keyboard website does refer to it as having “failed commercially” in their FAQ, so I’m guessing it can’t be too new.

The other keyboard is called the “Thummer“. I like it better. It also has a hexagonal layout. The maker, “Thumtronics” seems to have put a lot more effort into it. And their website. It has multiple reasons they promote to make it look better than other new keyboards & synthesizers, such as it being “Easier to Learn”, “More Expressive”, etc. It is far smaller, with about two fifths of the keys. It also has a lot of controls on the back like expressive joysticks and sustain buttons and things like that. It was originally made here in Australia, but they have moved to the US for some reason (who knows?). It has the same fingering in every key, it is motion sensitive, it has a lot of YouTube videos, and it sounds cool. When’s it coming out?

The Thummer Jammer

The Thummer Jammer

